I’m magic, and my birthday month proves it!

Standard

A few months ago I mused, “How I can meet the fierce and fabulous Michelle Tea?” A couple days later she emailed me out of blue for her reading series! So on Thursday, March 5 – the hubby’s birthday – we shall meet! Also in the lineup is Breanne Fahs, author of Valerie Solanas: The Defiant Life of the Woman Who Wrote SCUM (and Shot Andy Warhol), which I’m guessing will probably give my African hubby a heart attack, and Jordan Karnes, who graduated from CCA’s MFAW Program, where I now teach. What to wear, what to read? Radar Presents MARCH Radar Reading Series at the Library, San Francisco Main Library, 100 Larkin Street, 6:00 pm. Cookies!

So then I pondered, “how can I get involved in this Literary Death Match phenom?” A week later my pal Zahra Noorbakhsh said she was going to be a judge. After my pal Jeff Greenwald smoked the competition, I wished founder Adrian Todd Zuniga a Happy Birthday; Zahra pointed to me; and 3 days later ATZ invited me to get all judge-y on Saturday, March 7 (my birthday weekend)! Fellows judges (suggested by me) are Irish Dave, whom I met while we were performing at BustingOut Storytelling, and Echo Brown of Black Virgins Are Not for Hipsters, whom I’m dying to meet. The readers also look amazing, and I’ve already promised to judge the hell out of Casey A. Childers, who does cool things like Write Club and Shipwreck and WORDS & PIZZA: Game Night, where we met. Come join the  Literary Death Match fun at the Elbo Room, 647 Valencia St., SF, Show at 7:15 pm sharp; doors at 6:30 pm; after-party after! $7 preorder; $10 at the door.

Faith Adiele travel writing flyer jpeg

Down for 4th of July in Miami? Sunday, March 15 applications are due for the 2nd-ever Travel Writing Workshop for Writers of Color with Faith Adiele – a dream come true – which is taking place June 28-July 4 at VONA’s new home at the University of Miami! The racial gap in travel writing is a hot topic right now, with discussions recently hosted by Outbounding and allDigitocracy, and lists in Paste magazine (by the amazing Bani Amor, alumna of my first VONA travel workshop) and Ebony. And really, who travels more than folks of color? Whether it’s moving back and forth between language and culture; embarking on roots journeys or road trips; climbing from working to middle class; our families’ escape/exile/emigration/immigration; leaving home or dropping out of college; setting out on pilgrimages or spiritual quests; going abroad to study/research/witness/ reportage/volunteer; or simply walking the road to recovery every day.

Also hot is Spring Break, whereupon the hubby and I will be road-tripping south to L.A., visiting friends (including the man who introduced us 20+ years ago in Boston!), and culminating in the West Coast BINDERCON: The Out of the Binders Symposium at UCLA. The 2-day event be another opportunity to meet up with the fabulous Claudia Rankine and to meet Katie Orenstein. On Saturday, March 28 VONA co-founder/director Elmaz Abinader and I will be leading Writing The (An) Other: A Workshop on Writing Other Genders, Races, Sexualities & Cultures, an interactive workshop limited to conference registrants. March: It’s magical!

Where do you stand / sit / roll around?

